The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks (Book Review)

10766509

Goodreads Plot Summary:

THE BEST OF ME is the heart-rending story of two small-town former high school sweethearts from opposite sides of the tracks. Now middle-aged, they’ve taken wildly divergent paths, but neither has lived the life they imagined . . . and neither can forget the passionate first love that forever altered their world. When they are both called back to their hometown for the funeral of the mentor who once gave them shelter, they will be forced to confront the choices each has made, and ask whether love can truly rewrite the past.

My Review:

Heartbreaking! Yes, that’s one word to describe the whole story. For its so sad beyond words, and it’s much more painful than in “Nights in Rodanthe”. Although, I really couldn’t say that this is one of Nicholas Sparks’ best works, but there’s just something about this novel that really pulls you into it, and makes you cry after reading it. Plus, I also like the way he puts all the connections in all of of it’s characters, making each reader being able to understand and visualize them, knowing how each character is important in the story.

As for the ending? It did came as a big surprise! Truly, I wasn’t really expecting it to end that way. But I guess Nicholas Sparks has it’s own reasons for ending it in such a bittersweet kind of way. Another would be the maturity of the novel, it’s just way too mature for my age. I think its really for those readers who’ve already experience so much in life. For they’re the one’s who can truly relate themselves into the deeper emotions of Amanda and Dawson. They’re the main characters in the story who are going through so much. And they’ve also reached that point in life where they’ve asked themselves, “Have I truly made the right decisions on how I’ve lived my life, and was it worth it?” and think about those decisions, the right one’s and the wrong one’s; and if the wrong one’s, they filled some parts of it with regret, and ask the “What If” questions on what it might have been.

79a183e4f291d0a6883e97249d77a9cf

Although I was kinda surprised on how the story ended, but there are some parts in the story that I was able to second guessed, and that is who was Jared’s donor and who the dark haired man was. I guess reading tons of novels made me into a very observant kind of person, and good at guessing some parts of a story. But there are times that I did asked myself on how is it going to end. Since there are lot of heavy issues that are still needed to be tackled with, and If I were the author, I’ am definitely going to have a hard time concluding the story. And that’s how good Nicholas Sparks in terms of being a writer. For he has concluded it in a way that each reader would never expect him to.

Until now, I still don’t know if I still have plans for rereading the book all over again. For its so damn heartbreaking! The pain of reading it is just so unbearable, and even though I’m just a reader, it’s as if I’ve felt Dawson and Amanda’s pain; making me totally attached to it’s main characters. And I wasn’t really expecting to cry at the end of it, but I did. And just recently, I’ve just seen the film adaptation. It’s as beautiful as the novel. But, I wasn’t totally captured by the emotions that one would feel by being pulled into the story. So an advice for those who still haven’t read the book, or have plans of reading this, please prepare yourself a handkerchief, cause you are definitely going to need it.

5fe5ab8a52dd05551898f031fcccc1f1

Leave a Reply

