Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (Book Review)

eleanorandpark

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

-A Summary From Goodreads.com

eleanor&park_art

MY BOOK REVIEW:

This famous young adult novel is one of the most heartwarming stories that I’ve ever read. A story that actually left a mark on me that also kept me wanting for more of Eleanor and Park. And ever since I’ve noticed this book by the time it was published, and made it into one of the most popular stand-alone books; I’ve always been intrigued into reading this one since I’ve already read Ms. Rainbow Rowell’s first book entitled ‘Attachments’. Although I did enjoy reading the first one, but her second book is something that has turned into a favorite of mine.

I must say, the whole story is really intriguing. Moreover, I was kinda surprised when I’ve read the summary of the story for it was mentioned that Park is a Half-Korean and Half-American teenager. I guess it was really something that I’ve never encountered before, and it’s one of the reasons that I’ve decided to read this book.

About the setting of the story, it was during the 80’s. A generation that I’m not familiar with. So while the author was describing the young adult life of Eleanor and Park. Reading it was also getting an idea of what it’s like to live during those times; which made me realized on how those days were much more simpler than I thought, and quite different from our generation. However, even though that I was too late to experience it. I’m still proud to be born in the late 80’s.

9a5cc956783619afba55741476b090fc

The story of Eleanor and Park is a story about first love. Something that many of its readers can truly relate themselves into. These two main characters are not only opposite on the outside, but also as to who they really are. Including the kind of family that they both have. Eleanor leads a life that is so full of sadness. For the kind of family that she has is truly a wreck, and she just tends to feel that there is no end to all of the agonies that she is going through. Whereas to Park, he leads a simple and beautiful life; it’s not perfect but it’s something that one could truly be grateful for. And he always has the love and support of his very own family. Two opposite young adults who’ve found each other so that they could also learn from one another.

Reading this book is like a wake-up call to me especially on the part about Eleanor. It made me realize on how bless I ‘am in so many different ways. For I have a good family, that I’ve been able to go to a good school, and then to have a good job after that. It is really something that I’m so grateful beyond words; which also makes me a bit emotional whenever I look back to all of the struggles, and sacrifices that both of my parents have made for their kids, in order for them to have a good life.

While reading all those things that were described about Eleanor and her life, I’ve felt so sad for her that it made me pray and wish that something like that shouldn’t actually happen to any person. But if it is, then I hope that person could go through life as bravely as she did. And also, I think Eleanor wouldn’t have been so strong if it weren’t for Park. For he is the one great miracle in her life. His love for her has made her strong and brave to face everything that she is going through. And in a way, you could say that Park had truly saved Eleanor.

IMG_2581

This novel also tells us that everything that we do, and happens in our life has a perfect reason; especially to all those people that we’ve already met, and will also meet along the way. The purpose might be unclear. But in such perfect time. Everything else will truly make sense to us. And that is something that we really have to believe in.

It is a very unforgettable story and something that I would really like to share to anyone I know who still haven’t read this wonderful novel. Thank you.

One thought on “Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (Book Review)

  1. Pingback: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (Book Review) | Quirkyjasmine89

Leave a Reply

