Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson (Book Review)

BlackmooreJulianneDonaldson

Set in Northern England in 1820, Blackmoore is a Regency romance that tells the story of a young woman struggling to learn how to follow her heart. It is Wuthering Heights meets Little Women with a delicious must-read twist.

-Summary by Goodreads.com

MY BOOK REVIEW:

As they always say, one could never predict the unexpected, for I have never truly expected to really like Julianne Donaldson’s second novel entitled Blackmoore. I think it was in the year 2013 that I got an eBook copy of this novel. And at that time, I’ve just finished reading the Edenbrooke which was also written by the same author. I’ve wanted to read it ever since it was published but I just got caught up in so many books to prioritize in my reading list, and along the way it was totally stocked-up in my lists of “To Read Novels”.

It was a year later that I’ve finally decided to read the book. So I started reading its few chapters, which I’ve noticed that this novel has some concepts that had be taken out in some classic novels that I’ve read before like Pride and Prejudice and Northanger Abbey, which were both written by Jane Austen and The Old-Fashioned Girl by Louisa May Alcott.

The novel Blackmoore talks about the blossoming romance of Kate Worthington and Henry Delafield (which is your very typical kind of love story). They were childhood friends in the beginning, and then as they grew up into adults it blossomed into a romantic sort of friendship. It is a common one, but what made this love story so catchy to the readers is that sense of thrill and excitement that one would expect as you go along into the story; that as a reader, you just can’t get enough of them that you really wanted to finish it all the way, and that is why this novel is such a page turner. I’ve also noticed when I started reading this that the main heroine Kate does seem like a mystery to me. There are some things about her that I just can’t get enough of. Of course she might seem like your typical Jane Austen heroine, a woman who is smart and kind. But she’s a bit feisty in some ways. She’s a head strong kind of woman and so full of strong-willed independence, and that’s what I really like about her. As for Henry, he is a very honorable gentleman. Moreover, he has turned out to be one of my most favorite male characters. He’s charming, kind, smart, and he’s someone who is not afraid to fight for what he truly believes in especially in the name of love.

And as a dreamer of being a wanderer, it made me realized that nothing is impossible when one would dream of seeing the world. Even if there are people, or some circumstances that are trying to tide you up from that dream. But for as long as you believe in yourself and would truly work hard for it, then surely in the near future such a dream would truly come true. Actually in my case, it finally happened a few months ago, which made me grateful for the experience, and more determined than ever to continue in pursuing and living that dream.

Edenbrooke and Blackmoore may be the only two novels that I’ve read that were written by Julianne Donaldson. But hopefully soon, I will be able to read her other novel entitled the Heir to Edenbrooke. For it’s been awhile that I’ve read such books by authors who still writes a good and charming “Proper Romance”, the kind of Romance that reminds us of the good old writing styles of Jane Austen, Louisa May Alcott, Charlotte Bronte and many other classic romance writers. And this is truly a must read for all the fans out there of Classic Novels.

Thank you so much for reading. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

