Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire (Book Review)

12715277_10204492896201468_6365899428340280601_n

GOODREADS SUMMARY:

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

MY BOOK REVIEW:

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire is your typical story of a good girl falls for the bad guy. But that’s how the author would want its readers to think of as they would start reading into the story.

Well I have to admit, when I’ve started reading its first few chapters of the book, I actually did find the story a bit disturbing. I guess it’s because that even though the whole concept of it was sort of typical, it’s just way too intense for me. I also find their arrangement of their friendship turned to lovers to be so weird, (you’ll know it when you read it).

As for its two main characters, Travis Maddox is a very complex character. For he’s so intense and full of surprises! Mysterious? Maybe. He may look disastrous on the outside, but the real Travis is a guy who is extremely smart and so passionate especially when it comes to those people that he truly loves. As for Abby Abernathy, now that’s a character that I was totally deceived of. At first, I actually thought that she’s the kind of girl who is totally innocent and doesn’t have any idea of the ways of the world. But I was totally wrong about her. And after getting an idea of these two characters, it really made me think that looks can truly be deceiving.

So even though that I really had a roller coaster ride and had such mixed emotions while reading this book, it was still such a good story to read; but definitely not the kind of story that I would want to go back into. And it is so weird that most of my friends who’ve already read this book really had a great time reading this. I guess I’m just the exception to the rule. I don’t know. But one thing is for sure. The concept of the story is definitely not my typical cup of tea. Although it’s true that there were some similarities from E.L. James’ Fifty Shades Trilogy (which is one of my favorites), but this novel entitled Beautiful Disaster wasn’t able to capture me as one of its avid readers of the story of Travis and Abby.

But just because I wasn’t captivated into the story doesn’t mean that it isn’t a good one. As I’ve already written, it is a good story. And since I’ve already planned to write a review about the book, so might as well write an honest review. It’s just my opinion and I hope you understand. I may not have enjoyed it as much as I wanted to. But for sure, there are quite a number of readers out there who’ve been totally hooked into reading it.

Thank you so much! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

